NSSL/CIMMS team wins prestigious award for phased-array radar research paper

NSSL’s Dr. Pamela Heinselman, along with NSSL/Cooperative Institute of Mesoscale Meteorological Studies, David Priegnitz, Kevin Manross, Travis Smith and Richard Adams are the winners of the twenty-second Professor Dr. Vilho Vaisala Award for an Outstanding Research Paper.  The award recognized “Rapid Sampling of Severe Storms by the National Weather Radar Testbed Phased Array Radar,” published in the American Meteorological Society Weather and Forecasting journal, Vol. 23 in 2008.

The paper can be found here:  http://www.nssl.noaa.gov/projects/pardemo/

This same paper was selected as a 2009 Outstanding Scientific Paper Award from NOAA’s Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research.

The winning paper describes a study that demonstrated the National Weather Radar Testbed Phased Array Radar’s capability for adaptable, high temporal resolution scanning of quickly developing features in deep convective storms.

The purpose of the prestigious Professor Dr. Vilho Vaisala Award is to encourage and stimulate interest in research in the field of instruments and methods of observation in support of WMO Programs.  The award was established in 1985, and is granted on a biennial basis.

Heinselman presented the research during the World Meteorological Organization Technical Conference on Meteorological and Environmental Instruments and Methods of Observation in Helsinki, Finland at the beginning of September.  Heinselman, along with Adams and Priegnitz were on hand to receive a diploma and a medal on behalf of the team.

Share this: